top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 1 Thoughts key words. Why. Knowledge.


Thoughts key words. Why unit 1. Knowledge.


If you look hard enough, you’ll find the answer.

Paint hard-enough the answer will come.


How

Is it going to burst out of what you are looking at?

Be sucked into your brain.

Will cracks appear and we shall see beyond what we know.


Tree shelters us feeds us survives us.

Sprit released wonders looking down.

Bookcases shelve search though the harvested knowledge of others. Words of wisdom.

Pot container holds the essence. The magic unknown element mystery substance.


Our world its nooks, crannies, gaps and horizon, if we stare hard enough, wait long enough, hope and pray the answer will reveal itself like the clouds parting or mist clearing not unlike the thrill of spotting land for the first time after a long voyage.


I think I am painting about human hope, humanity a good journey being rewarded by find home, but also about the fabric that holds all these hopes and desires of goodness together the strings and treads that connect us all.


Without hope we cannot plan, we just wait for the inevitable.


The horizon is tipped, we are in a dip, we have to wait and look like a child not tall enough to see over the wall.

Portent, impatience excitement holding your breath, curious, only able to guess at what you can’t see.


The gap is narrow the focus your perspective is contained on the image in the distance that you can only really image, it is just too far away to see. We wonder. We guess.

Where we are is nice why do we need to wonder to see.

Why does our curiosity lead us down the path? The yellow brick road the garden path.

Why is the here and now not enough why are we so curious.


Why did we take the apple, why did we open the box, why did we leave?

Is it right to hope, is it good to hope?


If I open the cupboard door, read all the books, look hard enough into the sky walk a thousand miles will I find the answer ?


What was the question?


I paint to reveal, enjoy and examine what I am curious about.


I’d like to catch, deconstruct, and explain it. I would like the resulting product to relay that experience or the essence of itself to another allowing them to share my experience.


This connection connects me to my society.


I have started using photographs to look about me to see what is intriguing me. (what is sticky). I take a lot of photos over a few weeks some quite spontaneously and see if there is a focal point.

What has made an object or idea more attractive or alluring becomes question I would like to explore.

Why?


Printing I promote my ideas or feelings. Stories things utopias - Preconceived and then produced.

Painting is my way of exploring something looking, reflecting, deconstructing, and editing until the surface settles into a picture of my thoughts and records my feelings in an accurate manor.


Photography is a way for me to catch a thought a snap an oo.


Drawing is the way I wonder around what I’m seeing or thinking it is my freest form of expression of enjoyment,as i draw what my heart head feelings see.


Trees are my friends I’ve climbed them spied from them eaten their fruit, trained them, sheltered under them, lost and morned them, they have inspired me surprised me.

I’m sad away from them.


I purposely brush my head when I walk under them, I touch them.


One even cracked my front tooth but it never went black.


Light, it defines my world.


Water, I cross it and I feel it flow like blood though my veins.







bottom of page