top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 3 Process Lilith’s Complaint

Lilith’s Complaint was that she did not have autonomy.

she was expected to be contrite and subservient. Demure Like the Virgin Mary


I started by using the muslins I had stiffened, it felt like a womens under skirt, and started sketching out the madonna. I wanted to make a nod to lilith and incorporate a vessel and gifting gesture and as many other references to expectations of female virtue I could fit in. I realised I would need two panels.

Slowly by trial and error and advise from my cohort I started to balance out the elements, the various tablets and objects .

One point perspective, seemed to fit, as although a large assemblage Liliths complaint needs direction and the center point of the mother knee seems to be central to my idea. It also worked in The Gap.


I am beginning to think of each element as a piece of information, a page, a tablet, a document/object of meaningful information.

They contain residue.…..

Mary Kelly just popped up, more research into tablets of meaning, a way of communicating both biblical and lore.



bottom of page