top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 3 - Sarah Chalkie Cloonan Introduction to my Digital Home.

As the digital world encroaches on everyday life and since the pandemic squashed the “work world’ in to the ‘Home life’

-two worlds that have always been conjoined for me as a painter, wife ,mother, and daughter- My web site represents not only my more academic work from my year at Camberwell but also other aspects of my life and every day, it is my floating world, my thoughts and ideas research and reasoning about how, why and who I paint for.

Always looking for magic and inspired by the everyday, I am easily distracted as I grab and poke my world to produce answers to my never-ending questions.

I gather and shuffle information and images to try and find the truth. This is my life, I try and look out but always end up coming back to the home Ive made full of the smells of domestic life, coffee cake and bubblebath. It is littered with things to touch and the familiar sounds of my world and it always draws me back. I call it the domestic, for me it is, my mother, my grandmothers, my daughters with fleeting visitations of the men who appear and disappear to conquere some new impossible feat. The constants in my life have been the matriarchs young and old and those who satellite them while based within the domestic, even if it is a domestic work realm, still packed with objects that define home.

I’m only really interested in the inspiring and magical, the invisible net that connects everything just keeps giving new wonders without pausing like the magic cauldrons from myth and lore.

Magic domestic and those who give.


‘Do what you know ‘ say Leonardo Da Vinci ,’ Art should leave you changed‘ said Kenneth Clark, ‘sip from the vessel of life‘ suggests Rachel west speaking about art, and above all live a happy life and live the bits of it you like the most twice like Ani us Nim. According to William Morris the only way is,’ to elevate the everyday’ and that is what I hope to do, although I find my every day so magical already that I may just explore what I see and try and find its essence.



my paintings are full of questions, and suggestions they are just the first frame of my film if take Wim Wenders inspiration from hopper - Or maybe they are the last frame I I looke at it like Amy Silman. I want to try a bit of Joan Jonasing and play with the stories and images that form in my head, wafting in and out of my thoughts. Film would be more immersive and allow me to play with stories and sound frame by frame, untangling my process each frame would be a tile of the jigsaw.


By using ancient methods and structures to discuss my current thoughts and concerns About- family, female status - our world, from seen my world I find domestic magic and I stretch far back in history to find answers to my questionsand evidence to reinforcing an inkling that Im not the first to forage along this path, to find a truth that make sense of now and may suggest a path to follow or give an clue for my future .


This process of synchronised serendipity is fun and enjoy the surprises. creativity comes from life, where ever you are living it, art come from expressing your feelings for it whichever realm you reside in. My realm is the domestic and the everyday where I explore the magic and the things that male like worth living.

In a nut shell, Living in my narrow realm somewhere between where I have chosen and where society allows me to be, I watch to see what falls in to my web and then I weave using paints paper and anything else that seems to fit. My realm is the magic domestic, and the stories and knowledge that filters down to me, now with the internet my world has expanded, although in my role as artist, mother wife and daughter my time is still limited in which to explore - it is too fascinating to ignore withal its connects and nets it just keeps giving, it takes all my strength to keep up and make sense of what is delivered.


bottom of page