top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 2 - Process - Making the aid memoir mine - Disrupting the past, making a personal connection.


Disrupting the past, collarged paper print outs, June 2021.

Looking at my research and reference material, I wonder if a more direct instinctive route might give me some interesting results.

The picture of Cezanne‘s apples, this one from the met has always ways been a ‘sticky object’ for me. I remember racing along the long gallery in air conditioned New York Gallery to find it, when I first had the chance to see it for real. It was a perfect encounter. Time melted, I focused and stood there until Interrupted by one of my daughters, they too now have a memory of this painting too.

My collage has more meaning to me than the less than perfect post card or the print out. I've made it my thought about the picture and it takes me to my moment with the painting the one created by the artist, not the postcard photographed by the museum.


I wondered if this stick, paste, reflect, and make, method would do for the picture about conversations and memories that I had been thinking about.


This painting had started as a conversation piece at breakfast to help me focus while attending online lectures. I picked various objects with personal meaning and gathered them together.



bottom of page