top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 3 Context & Research - Delicate Knowledge


The Sycamore Seed Directly mimics not only Liliths wings but also the clitoral glands - my newly discovered mystery object.


I am going to look at making a object that I can Incorporate within my assemblage


Maybe Casting maybe 3D printing.


May be a bit more research will help me decide.


Differentiation-


The human penis and clitoris develop from the ambisexual genital tubercle.

At 9 weeks they look almost identical to my untrained eye.



Women have erections, penises and clitorises are made of the same tissue the clitoris is shaped a little like a sycamore seed, with two distinct arms, two bulbs, a body and a glans.

Sex education as it exists in most schools is rife with misinformation.


Fillod created the model - the blueprint of which can be downloaded and used anywhere, but is not part of France's formal school curriculum - as part of her work on a modern sex education video with Toulouse-based V.Ideaux.

3D printed clitoris, developed by French researcher Odile Fillod.- CREDIT

Click for Link.


Emily and I downloaded the file and printed up our own model slightly larger than life size.


I found that everyone who saw this object was curious, some who knew what it was were happy to chat about where it was how it worked, I decided I would like to place this object within my aslembage, not obviously but along with some sycamore seeds as a nod to Lilith and her complaint.



I then looked in to casting my sycamore seeds and investigated thier properties.




Further research revealed a famed Sycamore tree very near my daughter that had links to both Lilith and the Sycamore tree. So I when I was there paid a visit and collected some seeds - It was an ancient site near Bardon Mill, Hexham, on Hadrian’s Wall.



 

Source -







bottom of page