top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 3 M&M Casting



Emily and I decided explore a new process together, directly linked to our proposed installation.

I love the nick knacks and post cards from places I like to shop not at home but from where go, that includes clothes furniture and food. My house is full of memoirs and navigate in the same way. I research routes and go the most interesting way… eg my dad crossed to Greece from Italy at Bari when in doing his national service after the War, I dicovered an ancient Burren near there and a trulli in an olive grove for rent so I spent a week there and found the exact spot where they used to load the boats. While we sat on the beach next to the loading ramp….. it really was in the middle of no were I looked up and saw a bunch of big bright fishing boats moving accross the horizen with staures of the virgin mary stapped to their bows sounding their horns.

Later I asked about this rather noisy event and was told it was the way the locals scelebtated the assumption. It blessed their fishing waters.


I looked at my religious nick knacks and rather like the thought of attaching them to things.


So decided to attempt to cast plant pieces in bronze That related to my figure Lilith.


Emily chose Ivy, as it clung like a woman or a child and wound its way.




I checked out Lynsey’s video on the collage website which explained the processes available - Sadly only for those with the sign-in



Then checked out lost casting at the V&A a process Lindsey had suggested.



In the end my sycamore seeds burn out too quickly although if coated with a heavy layer of wax they worked well.

Knowing that there is a plentiful suply of sycamore seeds in the uk, I decided to go with the fresh variety that I pick up every day while walking with my children and dogs.


I sealed them and then gilded them for my final piece. The Gilding elivated the everyday and high lighted my referance towards nature and these seeds that not only represented the winged figure of Lilith and abut also inspired Leonardo da Vinci to invent the Helicopter.


I found a paper model that could be made to emulate and investigate the structure‘s flight abilities.





bottom of page