top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Process - Printmaking


April printmaking


My Print making has includedLilith's flower, Lilith and the Lemon.


I have realised I am looking at making sense of my identity, my domestic and intellectual world.


The Domestic is trapped, earthbound, between the heavens and hell.


My talisman the tree the lemon, flower, and vessel appear in four different roles; a strong supportive tree, silent and bearing the weight.


The lemon is bittersweet the flowers all have different meanings and the vessel is the container.


More research is needed and I think the teapot and fish are about to reappear.


All of these motifs are part of the domestic and feminine narrative, as I think about where and what I may do with my work on a more commercial basis I realise that certain outlets and places are very much concerned and connected with these motifs.


Alot of stores have internal display places or sell fine art objects, Liberties, Anthropology, and john Lewis to name three. I also Noticed a few book shops give windows over to unusual diplays, especially if included in a book, I see the use of a publication now.


In lockdown I thought of approaching the many shut up shops to offer to make a display which could been seen from outside. I would have used it as a place to sell from and to cheer up passers by.


I researched the production of items via print, to repoduce my fine art print and digital sale which could be delivered indipendantly, meaning that I would just put a link in the window to a print studio or manufacturer where the customer could order what they wanted. I the Artist would recive approximatly 30% without any input other than the original piece which would also be for sale. I tracked down suppliers and costed out the project.

Even out of lockdown this would work and I am still thinking of doing this although it will be harder to find shops who will want to do this now they are open again.



bottom of page