top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chalkie Cloonan

Unit 3 Context & Research - The Madonnas & Female Lore

Titian appeared early in my life contextually, young women in blue, babies and later rabbits, then the Madonnas took over as ideals of beauty, maternal lore and domestic magic.




We were taught to pray to the Virgin Mary as ‘Our mother’, and ask her to intercede on our behalf. My mother has a framed poster of the Piero Della Francesca madonna painted to commemorate his own mother, it is hung above her bed.


Piero della Francesca, Madonna del Parto (after 1457), detached fresco, 203 cm,Museo della Madonna del Parto, Monterchi.



I have Lippi's madonna along with the egyptian goddess of fertility, Hathor, although I might have used Isis just as easily.

My Aunty Peggy (1912 - 2013) was my mothers oldest Sister, my oldest living female relative, and she introduced me to Florence, Milan, Assisi and every piece of art in every church between there and her chalet in Gryon (switzerland).

Amongst her favourites where the Giorgiones, Masaccios and Giottos. On the other hand My Grandmother, Kitty, (1890 -1976) loved the frescos in her favourite church near the railway station in Florence, Santa Maria Novella. which we all visit to remember her when we are in Florence.


When my god daughter was confirmed I painted her a gilded panel of the Titian /Masaccio madonna From the Prado in madrid, cropped out the men in the image as they were not relevant to our relationship. Pippa is the daughter of my cousin Philip, he loved the picture and in turn I made him god father to my youngest daughter Loretta.

`This is the sort of continuity I speak off when I talk about family. This sense of purpose and belonging is deeply ingrained. It is a positive thing if coupled with generosity and kindness.


The paula rego paintings remind me of the images in my head of cousin Phillip struggling to keep my large infant daughter on his knee. Her paintings are often about women.

Her figures have the same sort of feel in context with their surroundings as the Italian church paintings I have been looking at.


The act of cradling upon the knee, fabric draped, hands clasped is an image that focuses my interests. It speaks volumes.


This Idea of cradling hands clasped or wrapped is important in the iconography of this maternal protective nurturing Figure.


It also speaks of identity, female Identity.


I think I shall make a madonna central to my final piece the one in the Prado is the one I most Identify with at this point but that may change. Now I need to find the Objects to surround her and make my request plain, I would like her to intercede on behalf of all women. and address Liliths Complaint.


The Virgin and Child between Saints Anthony of Padua and Roch (detail).

Ca. 1508. Oil on canvas. Room 042 Museo Nacional del Prado








bottom of page